Drawing on experience

Now home and working in the studio on large-scale drawings that will be exhibited in May 2015 at the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology in London. In August we have another show – this time of smaller works including drypoint prints at a venue in Cardiff. The power of the experiences I had in Tanzania has made itself very obvious while I have been working in the studio… my emotional need to bring the images out of my head and my heart and onto the paper has rarely been so strong. I will write more on this later but here I want to put up a small selection of images that were not created by me, but by the women themselves at CCBRT. As I mentioned in a previous post about the drawing class we put on I was moved and impressed by the creativity and imagination clearly demonstrated in the women’s drawings. The works speak volumes about what they know and, in some cases, what they desire. Once again the communicative authority of visual language is foregrounded, even beyond the clear need for some of the women to use the written word.DSCN0246DSCN0236 DSCN0227 DSCN0234 DSCN0228

Leave a Reply

