A clay head, and a second visit to Tanzania

IMG_0566

Here is a clay head that I made as a piece for the current exhibition at the Waterloo Teahouse gallery in Cardiff. It is based on some of the drawings and portraits in the show. My thanks to all those who are continuing to support the exhibition as it runs to the end of the month, your feedback has been very encouraging and sometimes very moving.  I am looking forward to seeing some of you there tomorrow evening when I and Professor Alison Fiander will be giving a talk and inviting discussion about the Drawing Out Obstetric Fistula Project. For those of you unable to attend I will post a transcript of Alison’s talk here on the site after the event.

I am looking forward also to traveling back to Tanzania next month where I will be visiting the The Mabinti Centre. I will be running creative workshops with the women there who are learning how to build new lives for themselves, having undergone fistula surgery. I am hoping to create another body of work when I get back for an exhibition next year in the US.

Leave a Reply

